University of Caen Lower Normandy
Template:Infobox University thumb The University of Caen Lower Normandy, or Caen University (French: Université de Caen Basse-Normandie) is a university in Caen, in France.
The institution was founded in 1432<ref name="unicaen.fr"/> by John of Lancaster, 1st Duke of Bedford, the first rector being a Cornishman, Michael Tregury, afterwards Archbishop of Dublin.<ref name="cathen">Template:Cite encyclopedia</ref> It originally consisted of a faculty of Canon Law and a faculty of Law. By 1438, it already had five faculties. The foundation was confirmed by the King of France Charles VII the Victorious in 1452.
On July 7, 1944, the university was totally destroyed by aerial bombing. Reconstruction began in 1948, the new university was inaugurated on June 1 and 2, 1957. Its logo, the mythical Phoenix, symbolises this revival.
- The mathematician Pierre Varignon, whose work would influence the young Leonhard Euler, earned his M.A. from Caen in 1682.
- Pierre-Simon Laplace (1749-1827) was introduced to mathematics in Caen by Christophe Gadbled and Pierre Le Canu.
- Henri Poincaré (1854-1912) taught there between 1879 and 1881.
- The University contains a famous scale model of Rome.
- Those intending to become advocates or solicitors in Guernsey (or, until recently, Jersey) must complete three months' study of Norman law at Caen University (Certificat d’Études Juridiques Françaises et Normandes) prior to being called to the Guernsey or Jersey Bar, respectively.
- The Center for Teaching French to Foreigners (Centre d'Enseignement du Français pour les Etrangères, or C.E.F.E.) is located here. The center is a hub for exchange students from around the world who wish to attend university in France. They take students from A1 (no French experience) to C2 (Native language).
- List of medieval universities